Cell phones and car rides

I haven’t gone on a roadtrip in a while, so I’ve missed all the new fads that supposedly happen while driving. These past two days, though, I’ve spent a total of 14 hours in the car. From New Jersey to Virginia. While I spent a majority of that time passed out in the back seat[car rides are terrible if you’re prone to car sickness, such as I am], I did take a moment or two to look out the window and look at the other drivers. And I noticed a few things. 1. Cell phones. 2. Fast drivers. 3. Traffic.

1. Cell phones. Since cell phones became popular people have driven while talking on their phones. Okay, fine. I thought it became illegal, but if that’s what floats your boat, fine go for it. Then came alone texting. Oh boy. We’re driving, on the Jersey Parkway, where drivers drive between 80-90 mph, maybe faster [I wasn’t really looking]. I look over to my right [we’re in the fast lane] and there’s a lady looking up and down up and down up and down, from her screen to the road back to the screen…while doing 80. Dangerous. I noticed other people doing that too. But fine, whatever floats your boat. As long as they don’t get into an accident with me.

2. Fast drivers. People in New Jersey drive fast. Really fast. They’ll come up behind you and if you’re not going fast enough they’ll switch into the next lane and go FWOOM right past you. Buh-bye. Scary.

3. Traffic. Ever since I was aware there was traffic, I’ve tried to figure out how it starts. Because it all ends up the same. There will be loooong lines of cars that will inch by slowly slowly slowly and maybe keep going for an hour or so and then all of a sudden you’re back to your speed of 80 or so. I can understand if there’s an accident or something, where 4 lanes becomes 3 or 3 becomes 2, but when there’s no accident and there’s just a rush of people going home, why is there traffic? We’re all rushing in the same direction and nothing’s stopping us so where is this traffic coming from? I will find the answer. Or if anyone is willing to enlighten me, that’d be great too.

0 Responses to “Cell phones and car rides”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

