First Impressions

So I think I’m beginning to understand why other colleges have a weeks worth of orientation. Freshies get to hang with the people in their dorm for a week without pressure from upperclassmen and then they all become friends. It’s quite a good idea. Unfortunately, Rutgers decided to change that this year and now, for people like me who suck at making friends, it makes like a little more difficult. Not only do we have to deal with classes three days after move-in, we have to worry about making friends and hanging out with them. College is a huge pressure cooker waiting to explode steam on your face and give you third degree burns.

Other than that, college is pretty good. I really enjoy the independence I have. I can eat when I want, what I want, even if the food sucks sometimes. The only parts that bother me are when my parents call me. Sometimes I’m busy, but they don’t know that, so they’ll call anyway.

It’s going to take some getting used to. But, it’s only just started. I have a whole year ahead of me. And two-three more years after that. Keep strong.

1 Response to “First Impressions”


  1. 1 momo September 3, 2009 at 1:12 am

    BU doesn’t have a freshman week either. But I think that for people who are going far away that it’s better to start classes early because it preoccupies your mind and you don’t get homesick as much. And don’t worry, you’ll make friends who are as awkward as you :P I think one of the downsides of S/E is that we have the same group of friends for 4 years so we become anti-social. But I noticed that even for me it’s changed a lot in the past few days, so don’t worry.

    I actually call my parents more than they call me…but now it’s less frequent. But I can’t wait till Thanksgiving just so I can go home already! I like the independence too. Nobody asking where you’re going, but you have to be more responsible (like not writing on other peoples’ blogs at 1 in the morning when you have class the next day…oops :P)

    Keep strong indeed.


Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

