Are you comfortable, sir?

Comfort has a lot to do with writing. Perhaps some of our best work is written when we are comfortable, or in an uncomfortable position. Therefore, at any point in time we can write to make ourselves comfortable. Jack Kerouac’s On the Road, so I’ve been told, was written at someone else’s house. I know I think of things while traveling and hoping I”m somewhere else. It may be the case that we write when we’re thinking of our home, the place we call home, the place where we can find comfort in mind and body. Comfort, that elusive and devilishly cunning creature. She beckons and we cannot help but follow. Or maybe I’m just a mad woman talking and spouting things that don’t make sense. I am rather comfortable where I am though I could probably be more comfortable elsewhere. I sure know I’m wishing to be somewhere I am not. Wherever we may call home, right?

1 Response to “Are you comfortable, sir?”


  1. 1 johnny appleseed August 31, 2010 at 2:31 am

    cant write when i’m comfortable.


Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

