these boots don’t seem to help me walk

Day 3 — Your parents

Dear Mommy and Daddy,

[First, I hope you never ever see this. My life would probably suck more if you did.]

Thank you for raising me and helping me learn the different particular aspects important for living in the twenty-first century on my own. I feel I have grown to be independent and capable, only needing assistance every now and then. That being said, perhaps I have flown the coop a little earlier than you would like, but please do not clip my wings. You’ll need to let me go someday and because of my upbringing, that someday happened sooner than later. I have pretty much learned on my own ever since I started school. Regular life things happened whenever the occasion occurred in normal life. I learn very quickly, so it’s not your fault in any way that I want to be on my own so soon. In fact, rather than being upset about that, be happy. For one thing, you don’t have to worry about me not knowing how to do my own laundry, or cooking for myself [seeing as how I love cooking], or even making money [being I don’t spend outrageously].

What I’m trying to say is, I appreciate everything you’ve done for me in the past nineteen years of my life, soon-to-be twenty, and now I’m paying you back by taking the burden off of your shoulders and placing it rightfully on mine. I will still be that little girl splashing water at my little sister in the pink plastic kiddy pool everyone had when they were little. However, I want to be that girl writing her little hand off and working her little butt off and driving herself insane and eventually making tons of money.

I love you guys and I wish you would start to give me my own space and understand that this is one of the final moments of growing up you’ll have to go through.

Love,
Me

0 Responses to “these boots don’t seem to help me walk”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

