Dear Girl-with-the-shades-half-open

I must admit, after being here for a little more than a month, today was the first day that I saw you. Your curtain, which is normally closed, is half open, revealing half of your room and I happened to look out my window today when you were in there. You had your hair in a ponytail and you wore a black and white polka dotted shirt. Your hair was dark brown or black and the pony ended at the nape of your neck. Your neck was thin and pale, matching your forearms which I saw when you reached for something on your desk or perhaps on the windowsill. I will never know. Even now, a few hours later, the sky all dark, your room is lit but I cannot see a sign of your person. I lied. Just as I glanced out again you appeared in the window with a black blazer on and shut the curtain. I saw that you had glasses on. Maybe I confused you for another girl, but I don’t think so. Your window was open when the sky was still cloudy and gray and the drizzle beat down on the bird poo, smearing it onto my window. Now it is dark and no one is around and it has stopped raining.

I hope I get to see you in person next time, stranger.

Love,
Me

1 Response to “Dear Girl-with-the-shades-half-open”


  1. 1 Ken February 23, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Like ships in the night…


Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

