The Place Where Water Ends

This is a continuation of my Easter break trip. If you missed out on the first part, click here!

We will journey to two different cities in this post, Paris and Venice. The first part is Paris.

After my stay in Barcelona I boarded an overnight bus at the Barcelona bus station and headed to Paris. I arrived in Paris at around 12:00 pm and arrived at my friend’s apartment around 1:00 pm. This was a friend I’d met my first year at university. She lived down the hall from me and lived next door to my future boyfriend. We were never close friends but we were a little more than acquaintances. This trip, though, changed that.

I arrived on Easter Sunday and Paris was drizzly, gray, and quiet. I had seen two of these things before on my previous trip to Paris, guess which ones [I’ll give you a hint. I went in early March. ] For the two days I was in Paris it drizzled on and off, and the sun decided to hide behind dark clouds rather than coming out to play. This didn’t make the trip horrible though. I actually rather enjoyed it. Since most things were closed on Easter, and on Easter Monday, I had a lot of bonding time with Laura [the friend] and I must say, she is quite a cool girl. I don’t know why I never hung out with her before. I found us rather similar in some ways. We’re both into natural remedies [no painkillers], cheap eats, and anxious about going into new places. I don’t know how, but we managed to talk most of the time I was there, which was a little more than 36 hours. If you take out the time when we were sleeping, we probably talked for a good 24+ hours. That’s quite impressive!

Laura happened to be staying with a couple of girls from our university back home and I sat there and listened to them tell stories of their stay at university. It was nice just taking a break from traveling and hearing news from back home, even if none of us had recent news. Hearing about Rutgers made me so nostalgic and I realized how much I’d missed Rutgers and it’s RU Screw abilities and just the people that come with it.

Unfortunately my stay was cut short and I needed to move on to Venice, so I boarded another overnight bus [Eurolines] and made my way with a large group of French and Italian citizens to a million different stops in Italy.

At 11 am the next morning we drove across the large bridge [?] that connects Venice to the mainland. It goes straight out but at the last bit curves so that you can see Venice as you approach. It was kind of dark and gray when we were approaching so it didn’t look as inviting as I hoped it would be, but it did get better as the day progressed.

We got to the bus station and I was left stranded with the four other travelers remaining on the bus. We all made our way over to information to find out how to get to our respective hostels and hotels. I took a vaporetto [water bus!] to my hostel on Guidecca island and after checking in, I spent some more money and traveled over to the main island.

That picture was taken at night but it’s pretty much the view I could see of the main island from Guidecca.

The main thing about Venice is that you don’t need a map. Get lost. I’m glad I read that on someone’s blog before I left for Venice, otherwise I would have worried more over the piece of paper that served as a map the hostel receptionist gave me. Plus he drew all over it. It was, in a word, unreadable. But no worries here. I got off at St. Mark’s and headed against the crowd and lost myself in the narrow alleys, crossed bridges that served as the walking paths between Venice’s hundreds of islands. And I had gelato. I was now in Italy and needed to eat real gelato [there will be plenty of stories about gelato in my Florence post].

Venice isn’t like other cities where you can strike out to go see museums and gardens. Venice is the main attraction. Sure, you’ll want to see the gondolas [they’re expensive!], but walk around and you’ll see other tourists taking rides down Venice’s small canals on gondolas. At one point I saw a line of gondolas going down one canal. There was an accordion player on one of the gondolas. Those tourists were obviously trying to get the full Venetian experience. Another thing about gondolas: the Venetians do not use them as transportation. They are purely a tourist attraction, and there are a lot of them. However, most people walk, take the vaporetto or the trochetto, or have their own power boats.

Back on the topic of museums, it is quite difficult to find the museums too. I saw this one museum, the Natural Science museum or something, and when I went to go back to see it, had no idea where it was. But I enjoyed Venice itself. I just traveled between squares, took in the graffiti covered walls, the little pink and yellow houses. It was beautiful. Plus the water was the exact shade of ‘sea green’ that we all used to have in our Crayola crayon boxes back in third grade. You know the one I’m talking about. Well, it is seriously that color.

This image of the Grand Canal doesn't show you the color, but it is pretty.

The next day, after making a few friends at the hostel the night before, the four of us traveled to the island Murano, known for its glass-making and glass-blowing. We went there with the intention of seeing some demonstrations of glass-blowing but we only actually saw glass-manipulation, which was pretty cool itself. At one point we went into this arcade/shopping center to go to the supermarket and there was a man working in a small shop, creating a tiny little glass elephant figurine! He used so much care and precision, delicately twirling the melted glass to elongate the glass until it was the right width and shape, even tapering it to create a tail and tusks! Unfortunately, no pictures were allowed.

We wandered around the island, looking at the stores [all of the stores sold glass. surprise!] It began to rain, and by rain I mean pour, so we found some refuge in the coffee shop on the island by the dock and when the rain stopped we went back and bought some jewelry, then headed back to the main island to wander around and find the Rialto Bridge!

And find it we did!

The rest of the day was spent wandering around again, so I’ll just put up some pictures to show you what I saw in the two days I was there.

glass statue on Murano Island

fresh fruits and vegetables

lots and lots of gondolas

end of the day, looking at Guidecca on the right, and anothing island on the left.

2 Responses to “The Place Where Water Ends”


  1. 1 mac April 25, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    Great pics – and thanks for the follow! :)


  1. 1 View of the World « Crawlspace Sleepyhead Trackback on May 3, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

