Just Some Things

I’ve noticed that Taipei 101 is very tall. Okay, that’s putting it lightly. It is one of the tallest buildings in the world. However, in comparison to other tall buildings, It seems taller than normal and I think I have figured out why. Why does the Eiffel Tower seem so tall when you are directly underneath it? Because it is surrounded by a park. When walking throughout New York City, why is it so easy to miss the Empire State Building? Because New York is filled with high-rises and skyscrapers. I admit, the Empire State building may not be as tall as some of the taller buildings of today, however in its time it was pretty tall. However, the way in which Taipei 101 was built was quite something else. In the few kilometers or so [I can’t measure city distances. It’s quite a large area though] surrounded Taipei 101, nothing rises higher than the first notch of Taipei 101.

picture from Google

Taipei 101 is made of one very large base, then ascends up with walls that seem stacked on top of each other. Notice from the picture how the land around the building is very very short in comparison to Taipei 101. This “optical illusion” of sorts makes the building seem even taller than it may actually be [although it is, as I’ve said, quite tall].

Just thought that was pretty interesting.

I’ve taken to not turning on my computer on the weekends, mainly because I don’t want to find out how many ants are crawling on my computer. However, I think the ant problem has gradually gotten slightly better so I may get around to it sometime soon. I need to upload tons of photos and catch up on manga. Haha! So for now, I’ll try to post as often as I can on the weekdays…when I’m at work!

2 Responses to “Just Some Things”


  1. 1 sirosoup July 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Did you take that picture?


Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

