Transportation

As my time here in Taiwan comes to an end, I realize how much I’ve progressed with the transportation system. The public one, that is. I can navigate my way around and through an MRT station. If I can’t find one, I can ask for directions. I’ve learned where my bus stop is and how to get there from a few stops, but not that many. However, compared to the zero knowledge I had when I got here, I consider this a plus. Too bad I will be leaving soon.

I really like the MRT of Taiwan. The system runs smoothly and is very high-tech. If there’s ever a place in Taiwan where you can count on it being clean and contain a bathroom, it’s the MRT Station. No food or drinking is allowed, except for water. Janitors clean the floor all the time, so they’re practically spotless once you’re inside. I’ve learned to start looking at the marquees they have when you are in transit to figure out if I need to run for my train or if I can just walk fast. Signs are all bilingual, and so are the marquees, which makes non-Chinese readers able to get around. There are television screens at the bigger stations with news or commercials running, and on the side they show when the next train to the destination will arrive. Plus, there are designated handicap seats on each car and people do not hesitate to give up their seat if they see a pregnant woman or elderly person. Not to mention that a lot of people are hesitant to sit in the designated seats. Of course, some people still sit in them but they’ll usually get up, which is nice. Otherwise no one sits in them at all until a person who it is designated for sits in it. Nice, huh? I think the Taiwanese do a really good job on their transit system. [the buses are the same, btw.]

Polution in Taiwan still sucks though.

1 Response to “Transportation”


  1. 1 sirosoup August 10, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    The MRT is probably one of the things I love most about Taiwan. Compared to the DC and NY metro system, Taiwan’s MRT is much nicer and efficient. It would have to be, considering the majority of the population relies on public transportation.


Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

