Rain: A Cultural History

Disclaimer: I received this book through Blogging for Books.

It seems quite fitting that I write the review for this book today. We’re expecting a Nor’easter, with high winds and lots of rain. Lots.

Rain: A Cultural and Natural History by Cynthia Barnett reads like a very long novel about rain. It’s easy to get through and teaches the reader about its origins without too much scientific mumbo-jumbo.

I personally received this book before last summer (I know, it’s been a very long time) and read it during the summer, but I think it would be a perfect read for a rainy day. I could see myself curled up on a couch, page after page about rain. It goes by very quickly, but I learned a lot. For instance, did you know that in people’s attempt to control the rain, they tried bombing the skies? To make rain.

We don’t understand how rain works, or at least we didn’t, but I’d say that some people still don’t. The book gives a great illustration of our interactions with rain throughout history, how we try to understand it and eventually how we try to control it. Because that’s what humans do, we control.

So if you’re looking for something new, or a break from your normal genre ( I normally read fantasy), pick this up and give it a try. You might be surprised!

Rating: 7.5 / 10

0 Responses to “Rain: A Cultural History”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where the Readers Write

Archives

Follow Me on Pinterest

Creative Content Copyright

Unless specified, all writing and pictures are written and taken by me.

